619 views 0 comments

Facebook users warned against Unfriend Alert app which might steal data

by onJuly 5, 2015
 

Be careful whereas downloading apps as a number of them might steal your information, say specialists. Recently, an app, Unfriend Alert – that alerts you once somebody “unfriends” you on Facebook – has been found to be grouping users’ Facebook information, Betanews.com Reportable.

The Unfriend Alert app is free and notifies you whenever somebody removes you from the Facebook friend list. However it asks for your register and positive identification.

The app additionally displays ads and might install malicious code on the user’s pc. The additional worrisome is that it doesn’t show up within the apps list on Facebook. Hence, you’ll be able to simply forget that it’s there and watching your activities.

“Looking at a Wireshark log for this check however shows that the login credentials are not sent directly to Facebook but to yougotunfriended.com.” Security firm MalwareBytes said.

The app conjointly displays ads and may install malicious code on the user’s laptop. What’s additional worrisome is that it doesn’t show up within the apps list on Facebook. Thus you’ll be able to simply forget that it’s there and observation your activities.

Expert advocate removing the app and ever-changing your countersign. There are different apps within the market that alert the users once a Facebook friend ditches them, however this new Unfriend Alert app appears to be designed to steal passwords.

Cyber Criminals have long used such apps to trick Facebook users. Already, lots of users are mistreatment apps like ‘who visited your profile’. It’s notable Cyber Criminals concentrate on options and apps that don’t seem to be provided by Facebook. The social networking company is aware of such malicious applications and has created many efforts to boost security of users and platform. Facebook recently proclaimed testing a replacement security medical exam tool that quickly guides you thru a couple of of the choices that anyone will access on their security settings page.

Be the first to comment!
 
Leave a reply »

 

    Leave a Response 

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.